John Carter


Black Saint 120057-2

Item: full_album_8024709047120_CD

Artists :
Bobby Bradford ( Trumpet )
Charles Owen ( Sax Soprano )
Charles Owens ( Oboe )
James Newton ( Alto, Bass Flute )
John Carter ( Clarinet )
Luis Peralta ( Waterphone )
Red Callender ( Vocal )
Roberto Miranda ( Bass )
William Jeffrey ( Drums )
Release date
Dec 28, 1982
"The first of clarinetist John Carter's five-part series in which he musically depicts the history of black Americans is one of the strongest. The five originals pay tribute to life in Africa a few centuries ago, mixing together folk melodies with very advanced improvising; Newton and Callender in particular really excel in this setting. Highly recommended for open-eared listeners."

(source: All Music Guide)