Muhal Richard Abrams

Blues Forever

Black Saint 120061-2

Item: full_album_8024709047526_CD

Artists :
Howard Johnson ( Tuba, Baritone Saxophone )
Jean-Paul Bourelly ( Guitar )
Jimmy Vass ( Alto Saxophone, Flute )
Michael Logan ( Bass )
Muhal Richard Abrams ( Piano, Synthesizer )
Vincent Chancey ( French Horn )
Wallace Laroy McMillan ( Saxophone, Flute )
Andrew Cyrille ( Drums, Percussion )
Baikida Carroll ( Trumpet, Flugelhorn )
Craig Harris ( Trombone )
Eugene Ghee ( Saxophone, Clarinet )
Release date
Dec 28, 1982

"Tremendous large orchestra session, with Abrams heading a crew that includes the cream of '70s and '80s improvisers, plus some '60s survivors. Although every arrangement doesn't click, the band successfully romps and stomps through enough cuts to show that the big band sound doesn't just mean "ghost" groups recreating dusty numbers from the '30s and '40s."

(source:,  R. Wynn)