Labels > Black Saint > Sun Ra Arkestra > Mayan Temples

Sun Ra Arkestra

Mayan Temples

Black Saint 120121-2

Item: full_album_8024709053527_CD

Artists :
Ahmed Abdullah ( Trumpet, Vocal )
Clifford Barbaro ( Drums )
Earl "Buster" Smith ( Drums )
Elson Nascimento ( Surdo Percussion )
James Jackson ( Bassoon, African Drums )
John Gilmore ( Tenor Sax, Clarinet )
Jorge Silva ( Percussion )
Jothan Callins ( Bass, Electric Bass )
June Tyson ( Vocal )
Marshall Allen ( Alto Sax, Flute, Oboe, Piccolo )
Michael Ray ( Trumpet, Vocal )
Ron McBee ( Congas & Percussion )
Sun Ra Arkestra ( Orchestra )
Tyrone Hill ( Trombone )
Sun Ra ( Piano, Synthesizer )
Noel Scott ( Alto Sax )
Release date
Dec 28, 1990

“One of the finest Sun Ra recordings from his final years, this effort is particularly recommended due to the many Ra keyboard solos and John Gilmore features, the latter of which include a tenor showcase on "Opus In Springtime." Trumpeters Michael Ray and Ahmed Abdullah, altoist Marshall Allen and singer June Tyson also have their spots, and the repertoire consists of ten Ra originals (including a remake of "El Is the Sound of Joy") and three standard ballads. Overall, this is a fine all-around studio set. Recommended.”

(source:, S.Yanow)