Charles Bobo Shaw, Human Arts Ensemble

Junk Trap

Black Saint 120021-2

Item: full_album_8024709043528_CD

Artists :
Human Arts Ensemble ( Band )
John Lindberg ( Bass )
Joseph Bowie ( Trombone )
Luther Thomas ( Sax Alto )
Charles Bobo Shaw ( Drums )
James Emery ( Guitar )
Release date
Dec 28, 1978

A wonderfully focused record from drummer Charles Bobo Shaw -- a set that shows the new fire his music had gained in the latter part of the 70s! The lineup still strongly shows Shaw's roots -- a creative combo that features Joseph Bowie on trombone, Luther Thomas on alto sax, James Emery on guitar, and John Lindberg on bass -- and there's a nice sense of swing amidst the freedom, a rhythmic pulse that comes especially strongly from the bass and drums, and which reminds us of some of Thomas' best moments in this mode. The set's a great example of the way that 70s groups like this could work with a great sense of freedom, but still keep things grooving too.

(source: Dusty Groove America)