Labels > Black Saint > John Lindberg > Trilogy Of Works For Eleven Instrumentalists

John Lindberg

Trilogy Of Works For Eleven Instrumentalists

Black Saint 120082-2

Item: full_album_8024709049629_CD

Artists :
Anthony Braxton ( Saxophone, Conductor )
Eric Watson ( Piano )
Hugh Ragin ( Trumpet )
John Lindberg ( Bass )
Marty Ehrlich ( Piccolo, Flute, Clarinet, Sax )
Mike Mossman ( Trumpet, Piccolo Trumpet, Flugelhorn )
Vincent Chancey ( French Horn )
Thurman Barker ( Drums, Percussion )
J. D. Parran ( Clarinet )
Pablo Calogero ( Sax Baritone )
Release date
Dec 28, 1985

"Bassist John Lindberg is best known for his associations with the String Trio of New York and for a time with Anthony Braxton, but, as witness this stimulating set, he also has the potential to be a major bandleader and composer. Lindberg performs three of his originals (including the 20-minute "Dresden Moods") as part of an 11-piece group also including such notables as trumpeters Hugh Ragin and Mike Mossman, trombonist Ray Anderson, and the reeds of Marty Ehrlich and J.D. Parran, among others. The music is coherent yet unpredictable, a little reminiscent of Charles Mingus, yet different and never dull. Well worth checking out by open-eared listeners."

(source:, S. Yanow)