Oliver Lake Quartet


Black Saint 120104-2

Item: full_album_8024709051820_CD

Artists :
Charles Eubanks ( Piano )
Reggie Workman ( Bass )
Andrew Cyrille ( Drums, Percussion )
Oliver Lake ( Alto, Soprano & Tenor Sax, Flute )
Release date
Dec 28, 1994

"... Lake has staked out... a post-Dolphy mainstream, where structural quirks of his compositions and the sudden spikes of intensity in his solos are leavened by a refreshing matter-of-fact temperament.... EDGE-ING deals with tradition without being retro and pushes the envelope without getting pushy... "
All music written by Oliver Lake except for "Peanut Butter" (John Hicks) and "Verve Nerve" (Curtis Clark). Recorded at Mu Rec Studio, Milano, Italy on June 28-29, 1993. Includes liner notes by Howard Mandel. Personnel: Oliver Lake (alto saxophone); Charles Eubanks (piano); 
Reggie Workman (acoustic bass); Andrew Cyrille (drums). Liner Notes Author: Howard Mandel.