Labels > Black Saint > Sun Ra Arkestra > Reflections In Blue

Sun Ra Arkestra

Reflections In Blue

Black Saint 120101-2

Item: full_album_8024709051523_CD

Artists :
Carl LeBlanc ( Guitar )
Danny Ray Thompson ( Alto & Baritone Sax, Flute )
Earl "Buster" Smith ( Drums )
James Jackson ( Bassoon, African Drums )
John Gilmore ( Tenor Sax, Clarinet )
Leroy Taylor ( Alto Sax, Alto & Bass Clarinet )
Marshall Allen ( Alto Sax, Flute, Oboe, Piccolo )
Pat Patrick ( Alto Sax, Clarinet )
Randall Murray ( Trumpet )
Ronald Wilson ( Tenor Sax )
Sun Ra Arkestra ( Orchestra )
Thomas Hunter ( Drums )
Tyler Mitchell ( Bass )
Tyrone Hill ( Trombone )
Sun Ra ( Piano, Synthesizer )
Release date
Dec 28, 1987

“By the 1980s, Sun Ra was often revisiting the past in eccentric fashion. He had become interested again in the music of Fletcher Henderson and early Duke Ellington, and was playing occasional standards in concert, although in very much his own way. His 14-piece Arkestra of 1986 on this date not only performs demented renditions of "Say It Isn't So" and "Yesterdays" (hinting at swing while often including borderline outside solos), but originals that sound like crazy swing tunes, most notably the heated "Reflections In Blue" and "Nothin' From Nothin'." Certainly this studio set is not recommended for swing purists who take life too seriously, but the creative and often crazy music should delight many listeners. The follow-up album, Hours After, was recorded during the same two days.”

(source:, S.Yanow)