Labels > Soul Note > Tom Varner > The Mystery Of Compassion

Tom Varner

The Mystery Of Compassion

Soul Note 121217-2

Item: full_album_8024709082022_CD

Artists :
David Taylor ( Bass Trombone, Tuba )
Ed Jackson ( Sax Alto )
Jim Hartog ( Sax Baritone )
Mark Feldman ( Violin )
Matt Darriau ( Sax Alto )
Mike Richmond ( Bass )
Rich Rothenberg ( Sax Tenor )
Tom Rainey ( Drums )
Tom Varner ( French Horn )
Steve Swell ( Trombone )
Ellery Eskelin ( Tenor Saxophone )
Release date
Dec 31, 1993
French horn player Varner is among the most imaginative and original composers and arrangers in jazz. He transcends the genre's boundaries without ever losing its feeling. His ingenious arrangements are played here by an occasionally augmented quintet which includes half the 29th Street Saxophone Quartet and explores the full range of instrumental textures in truly distinctive fashion.