David Murray Octet

Hope Scope

Black Saint 120139-2

Item: full_album_8024709055323_CD

Artists :
David Murray Octet ( Octet )
Hugh Ragin ( Trumpet )
James Spaulding ( Alto Sax )
Ralph Peterson ( Drums )
David Murray ( Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet )
Rasul Siddik ( Trumpet )
Craig Harris ( Trombone )
Wilber Morris ( Bass )
Dave Burrell ( Piano, Voice )
Release date
Dec 31, 1991

“…"...this is bright, exuberant album, full of the band’s palpable delight in what they’re doing…..."
(source: The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD)

"The perfect setting for the innovative David Murray is the octet that he leads on an irregular basis. This spirited set has tributes to Ben Webster and Lester Young but is at its best when the full ensemble (trumpeters Hugh Ragin and Rasul Siddik, trombonist Craig Harris, altoist James Spaulding, pianist Dave Burrell, bassist Wilber Morris and drummer Ralph Peterson, Jr., along with the leader on tenor and bass clarinet) get to improvise together. This is one of their strongest all-round recordings with "Hope Scope" being a particular highpoint."

(source: AllMusic.com, S. Yanow)