The Symphonic Ellington

Night Creature

Soul Note 121319-2

Item: full_album_8024709091826_CD

Artists :
Civica Jazz Band ( Band )
Ensemble Dell'Orchestra Sinfonica Di Milano Giuseppe Verdi ( Orchestra )
Francesca Petrolo ( Trombone )
Francesco Bianchi ( Alto Saxophone )
Giulio Visibelli ( Alto And Soprano Sax )
Marco Fior ( Trumpet )
Marco Fumo ( Piano )
Roberto Rossi ( Trombone )
Roberto Tarenzi ( Piano )
Tony Arco ( Drums )
Luca Specchio ( Baritone Saxophone )
Lucio Terzano ( Bass )
Andrea Farì ( Drums )
Gianni Bedori ( Tenor Saxophone )
Valentino Finoli ( Tenor Saxophone )
Lorenzo Brambille ( Trombone )
Sergio Chiricosta ( Trombone )
Emilio Soana ( Trumpet )
Marco Mariani ( Trumpet )
Riccardo Gibertini ( Trumpet )
Fatlinda Thaci ( Violin )
Enrico Intra ( Musical Director )
Release date
Sep 14, 1999

Duke Ellington did not write for symphony orchestras very often in his career, but when he did, the results were generally memorable. Two of his main works, the six-part "Night Creature" and the four-part "The Three Black Kings," plus an adaptation of the three-part "New World a-Comin'" are interpreted in Italy by the Civica Jazz Band (a big band) and the Ensemble dell'Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi. In addition, pianist Marco Fumo is featured on "Swampy River" and pianist Enrico Intra is showcased on a slower-than-usual version of "Take the 'A' Train." There are some strong solo moments along the way, including a string of solos during the third part of "The Three Black Kings," and the orchestra does justice to Duke's work, sometimes hinting at his own big band. This rarely performed music is well worth exploring. ~ Scott Yanow, Rovi