Labels > Soul Note > Joe Lovano > Village Rhythm

Joe Lovano

Village Rhythm

Soul Note 121182-2

Item: full_album_8024709078629_CD

Artists :
Kenny Werner ( Piano, Synthesizer )
Paul Motian ( Drums )
Tom Harrell ( Trumpet )
Marc Johnson ( Bass )
Joe Lovano ( Tenor Sax )
Release date
Jun 7, 1988
"By 1988, it was becoming increasingly obvious that tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano was on his way to becoming a major name in the jazz world. For this advanced hard bop set, he contributed all of the selections other than Charles Mingus' "Duke Ellington's Sound of Love," including a tribute to his father, tenorman Tony "Big T" Lovano. Teamed with trumpeter Tom Harrell, pianist Kenny Werner, bassist Marc Johnson and drummer Paul Motian, Lovano is heard throughout in his early prime, playing inventive and generally concise improvisations that were beginning to become distinctive."

(source: iTunes Review)