Roscoe Mitchell And The Sound Ensemble

3x4 Eye

Black Saint 120050-2

Item: full_album_8024709046420_CD

Artists :
A. Spencer Barefield ( Guitar )
Hugh Ragin ( Trumpet )
Jaribu Shahid ( Bass )
Tani Tabbal ( Drums, Percussion )
Roscoe Mitchell ( Soprano, Alto & Tenor Sax )
Release date
Dec 28, 1981

"Roscoe Mitchell heads his Sound Ensemble, and this 1981 session presents them doing two extensive numbers and two shorter pieces. The longer works have fiery solos and intricate unison sections, while "JoJar" features Mitchell's group in a looser, more relaxed posture, and "Variations On A Folk Song" alternates between jagged, flamboyant solos and simple statements. This isn't among his most intense or combative dates, but Mitchell and the Sound Ensemble are still well worth hearing." (Source: Ron Wynn,