Muhal Richard Abrams Octet

View From Within

Black Saint 120081-2

Item: full_album_8024709049520_CD

Artists :
John Purcell ( Flute, Saxophone, Clarinet )
Marty Ehrlich ( Piccolo, Flute, Clarinet, Sax )
Muhal Richard Abrams ( Piano, Synthesizer )
Ray Mantilla ( Conga, Percussion )
Thurman Barker ( Drums, Percussion )
Stanton Davis ( Trumpet, Flugelhorn )
Warren Smith ( Percussion, Vibes )
Rick Rozie ( Bass )
Release date
Dec 28, 1985

"Abrams' work for mid-sized groups varies markedly from his solo, trio, or large orchestra material. Compositions are even more unpredictable, there's more emphasis on mood and less on rhythm, and solos are crisper and shorter. This '84 date included some intriguing instrumental configurations at times (vibes/flute/percussion, piano/clarinet/bass clarinet) and ranked among his best '80s dates."

(source:, R. Wynn)