World Saxophone Quartet

Live In Zurich

Black Saint 120077-2

Item: full_album_8024709049124_CD

Artists :
World Saxophone Quartet ( Quartet )
David Murray ( Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet )
Julius Hemphill ( Alto, Soprano & Tenor Sax, Flute )
Oliver Lake ( Alto, Soprano & Tenor Sax, Flute )
Hamiet Bluiett ( Sax, Clarinet )
Release date
Dec 28, 1984

"By 1981, after four years of existence, it was obvious that the most talented writer in the World Saxophone Quartet was altoist Julius Hemphill. This Black Saint release finds Hemphill contributing six of the eight pieces (the other two are by Hamiet Bluiett), including the hard-swinging "Bordertown," the colorful "Steppin" and a vivid feature for David Murray's tenor on "My First Winter." A particularly strong release by a classic and innovative group."

(source:, S. Yanow)