New Life

David Murray Octet
David Murray Octet
add here a short description

Artists :

Adegoke Steve Colson ( Piano )
David Murray Octet ( Octet )
Hugh Ragin ( Trumpet )
John Purcell ( Flute, Saxophone, Clarinet )
Ralph Peterson ( Drums )
Baikida Carroll ( Trumpet, Flugelhorn )
David Murray ( Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet )
Craig Harris ( Trombone )
Wilber Morris ( Bass )
David Murray Octet

"The David Murray Octet (which at the time consisted of the leader on tenor and bass clarinet, trumpeters Baikida Carroll and Hugh Ragin, trombonist Craig Harris, altoist John Purcell, pianist Steve Colson, bassist Wilbur Morris and drummer Ralph Peterson) stretches out on four of its leader's originals. The tunes ("Train Whistle," "Morning Song," "New Life" and "Blues in the Pocket") are each fairly memorable -- the themes are strong than usual -- and as usual, the Octet features the right combination of adventurous solos and colorful writing. Recommended. "

(source:, S. Yanow)

More Information
Title New Life
Barcode 8024709051424
Catalogue Number 120100-2
Display Artist David Murray Octet
Label Black Saint
Release date Dec 28, 1987
Year 1987
Format cd, digital
Duration 0:38:38
Main genre Jazz
Product type full album