Hope Scope

David Murray Octet
David Murray Octet
add here a short description

Artists :

David Murray Octet ( Octet )
Hugh Ragin ( Trumpet )
James Spaulding ( Alto Sax )
Ralph Peterson ( Drums )
David Murray ( Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet )
Rasul Siddik ( Trumpet )
Craig Harris ( Trombone )
Wilber Morris ( Bass )
Dave Burrell ( Piano, Voice )
David Murray Octet

“…"...this is bright, exuberant album, full of the band’s palpable delight in what they’re doing…..."
(source: The Penguin Guide to Jazz on CD)

"The perfect setting for the innovative David Murray is the octet that he leads on an irregular basis. This spirited set has tributes to Ben Webster and Lester Young but is at its best when the full ensemble (trumpeters Hugh Ragin and Rasul Siddik, trombonist Craig Harris, altoist James Spaulding, pianist Dave Burrell, bassist Wilber Morris and drummer Ralph Peterson, Jr., along with the leader on tenor and bass clarinet) get to improvise together. This is one of their strongest all-round recordings with "Hope Scope" being a particular highpoint."

(source: AllMusic.com, S. Yanow)


More Information
Title Hope Scope
Barcode 8024709055323
Catalogue Number 120139-2
Display Artist David Murray Octet
Label Black Saint
Release date Dec 31, 1991
Year 1991
Format cd, digital
Duration 0:41:41
Main genre Jazz
Product type full album